The Headies (formerly referred to as Hip Hop World Awards) debuted in 2006 and has become one of the most anticipated annual Nigerian entertainment event.

Today, the Awards ceremony is the biggest award ceremony in the country. Within the space of ten years, it has cemented itself as the authentic awards’ brand and has continued to deliver an annual awards ceremony that has never failed to dazzle, inspire, excite and entertain.

Conceived to reward artistes with genuine artistic talent in a developing music industry, The Headies debuted on March 10, 2006 at the MUSON Centre Onikan, Lagos.

This year would make it the 8 th time the Awards is running consecutively since 2006 when it started.

Since the Award’s inception in 2006, The Headies plaque (The Headie) has become synonymous to artistic ingenuity and excellence, and winning the plaque has also become a career defining moment for many Nigerian artistes.

‘Headie’ is the name given to the Hip Hop World Awards gold plaque.

The Headie plaque depicts the image and the shout of a young, vibrant individual whose talent can challenge that of renowned local and international artistes combined, but who has almost lost confidence in his abilities in the face of discouraging circumstances presented by the peculiar Nigerian environment.

The image of Headie was conceptualized by Ayo Animashaun and drawn by Matthias Aragbada.

The first Headie plaque was done by Jide Adewoye.

In 2008, the Headie became a 21-carat gold plated plaque; produced in the UK after failed attempts to get the same quality locally.

The present Headie plaque is a mixture of resin, copper, steel, marble and gold.

From 2006 to date, the Headies “HALL OF FAME” category has had the following recipients;

Kenny Ogungbe, D1 & Dj Jimmy Jatt – 2006

Ben Bruce – 2007

Obi Asika and Olisa – 2008

Phillip Trimnell and DJ Grand Master Lee – 2009

Obafemi Lasode – 2010

Sir Shina Peters – 2011

Femi Kuti – 2012

KWAM 1 – 2013

Sir Victor Uwaifo – 2014

2Face Idibia – 2015

Laolu Akins – 2016

Various hosts that have compered the prestigious Awards from inception include;

Dare Art Alade (2006)

D’Banj and Tana (2007)

Basketmouth and Dakore (2008)

BankyW and Kemi Adetiba (2009)

In 2010, the voiceover called “The Voice of God” was used in replacement of any personality.

Rita Dominic and eLDee (2011)

Omawumi and M.I. (2012)

Tiwa and Dr Sid (2013)

Toke makinwa and Basket mouth (2014)

Kaffy & Bovi (2015)

Falz and Adesuwa Etomi (2016)

Past winners of the Next Rated category are;

2006 – Asa

2007 – Overdose

2008 – Wande Coal

2009 – Skuki

2010 – Omawumi

2011 – Wizkid

2012 – DavidO

2013 – Sean Tizzle

2014 – Patoranking

2015 – Reekado Banks

2016 – Mr. Eazi

The official Headies website is


  • The Headies secretariat is now open to receive entries for the 14th Headies edition of the Awards.
  • For more enquiries on The Headies 2019, check our FAQ page or visit the secretariat at - 4, Ogundana Street, Off Allen Avenue, Ikeja, Lagos, Nigeria.
  • Organizers of the Awards will be including a new nomination category – “Songwriter of the year”, to bring to the limelight hardworking individuals who have all significantly supported the creation of quality music.
  • Only music materials (audio/video) released between July 2019 and September 2020 are legible for submission and nomination at the 14th edition of The Headies. Visit this link to fill nomination form